KVMRT Line 2


MMC Gamuda KVMRT (T) Sdn Bhd




228, 330 sqm


Completed in 2023

The MRT Sungai Buloh – Serdang – Putrajaya Line (MRT SSP) or MRT 2 is the twelfth rail transit line, part of the larger rail transport system in Kuala Lumpur known as the Greater KL/Klang Valley Integrated Transit System. It consists of 37 stations, 11 of which are underground. The line will stretch from Sungai Buloh to Putrajaya and will include densely populated areas Sri Damansara, Kepong, Batu, Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah, Jalan Tun Razak, KLCC, Tun Razak Exchange, Kuchai Lama, Seri Kembangan and Cyberjaya. It is expected to have a ridership of 533,000 passengers per day once completed.

SAA was awarded a package of 10 stations that were to be completed at the same time, each of which with its own unique design, responding to the community that it serves. In finding a common identity for the vast demographic it serves, the elevated stations are based on the “Serambi” concept – focused on inspiring interaction at the foyer of a Malay house (rumah kampung). The columns of the stations are pushed to the edges, giving the station a wide, open, and airy feel, bringing in natural lighting and ventilation through screens that portray the Malay vernacular. The stations are linked through a common wayfinding system, helping passengers orientate themselves regardless of where they are.

As the underground stations are less visible, each station emphasises on its own local identity, helping passengers differentiate the stations, at the same time integrating each station entrance into its neighbourhood and giving residents a sense of place.

  • BIM Level 2 Excellence Award, 2018

© 2024 SAA Architects Pte Ltd. All rights reserved.